h1

The Dance

April 5, 2009

The Dance

With them, through them, I twirled,
Frozen in time, hair up-swept.
Beautiful dress, eyes glitter at the world,
Pretty shoes, dancing tempo to music kept.

A partner’s hands, so smoothly through the music led,
Hand at the small of my back, gently gliding.
Bubbles of champagne intoxicated my head,
Center of the floor; for me no hiding.

Born to the wrong era, I know in my soul,
Music in my mind, the big bands playing.
Moments such as this keep me whole,
Reality so often jarring, dismaying.

This is only a dream, loaded heavy with romance,
Forever perfect in every way.
Time, place, people, not there by chance,
I sigh, only to return to present day.

One comment

  1. Beautiful Vicki!



Leave a Reply

