h1

Self-Monster

April 15, 2009

gripping pain, labored breath.
hang up the fourth time.
one last time. no more.

frustration, anger, hurt.
emotions erupt
spew out of me
wildly
the monster won’t be controlled,
no longer denied,
it controls me for now.

binding, crushing my body
pain from within
gasping for breath
crying. heaving sobs
brain screaming, no one can hear.
curled up outside and in.
reasons known only to me
and the monster in my subconscious

the phone is not the enemy.
the phone is not the enemy.
the phone is not the enemy.

hugging myself.
chant nonsense.
it is. it is. it is.
four calls, not three
sobs abate, breathing levels.
small victory in the battle
between me,
and my self-monster.

Leave a Reply

