h1

Homage to Peanut Butter

November 11, 2009

I love peanut butter. No… I adore peanut butter. Peanut butter Peanut butter Peanut butter.

I’m not talking about the all natural stuff. I’m not talking about the organic stuff. I’m not talking about the generic stuff. I’m talking about the “Choosy Mom’s” peanut butter of choice. Now, don’t get me wrong, the other name brand is okay, but honestly, if given a choice, I’ll always pick the Choosy Mom’s jar. Just dip that spoon in and hand it to me. It’s a meal in itself. I’ve found it often pairs nicely with a decent Chardonnay.

I’m not sure when my love affair with peanut butter began. Maybe the day I looked in the cupboard and realized I had nothing else there… I’m sure it started sometime during the vegetarian years… my quest for protein… and sugar… yummmmm. Or maybe I just decided that peanut butter should become my signature food.  Probably a combination of  all of the above. In any case, I can easily eat a whole jar of peanut butter each week without any help from my daughter.

My favorite time to eat peanut butter? Any time is a good time to eat peanut butter. Breakfast, lunch, dinner, snack… any of these meal times are appropriate. I also recommend it as a 1:00 a.m. I-just-woke-up-and-I-can’t-get-back-to-sleep snack. That’s not to say that it will help you get back to sleep, but it surely will make that awake time tasty!

Many people think I’m joking when I say that I had peanut butter for a meal. I’m not. When they realize that peanut butter was indeed a sincere answer, the next question usually is… ‘No, really?’ To which I answer… ‘Yes. Really.’  Please don’t assume that I eat my peanut butter on or with something else, either. Although peanut butter does go well with many foods, I find that it is really quite satisfying to simply eat straight from the jar – preferably with a large spoon.

If you ever see me write down that my love affair with peanut butter is over, please check me in to the hospital… something surely must be wrong with me!

I will continue to love peanut butter, ’til death do us part. In fact, I had peanut butter tonight.

And for dessert? Peanut butter. Of course.

2 comments

  1. Nice post 🙂 I think you might enjoy crafting a poem about peanut butter, I know I would enjoy reading it!


  2. :D!!!!!!!



Leave a Reply

