h1

“My 365” July 4, 2010

July 4, 2010
July 4, 2010

July 4, 2010 - capture each moment when you can

July 4, 2010. ISO 400. Shutter 1/5. Aperture f/4.0. No flash, outside, 8:41 p.m. PST.

I set the timer, and went back to sit with my daughter Jessica. I remember so clearly so many Independence Days of my past.

As a child – Standing on the swingset at the neighbors house across the street. We’d grilled out with them, as usual, and were poised to watch the fireworks displays which were miles away. Hot and muggy days, followed by a damp chill later at night. Chasing firefilies around the yard as it finally got dark during those long summer evenings. Arguing with my brothers about where we were going to perch on the swingset. Some of the sweetest memories of my childhood.

Flash forward to the more recent past… I cherish the photo of my Nana where I am right next to her. A classic Scott and Katie bbq, complete with the most interesting people in the world, plus those I love the most. Moving our chairs out to the edge of their front lawn to watch the Torrance fireworks over the trees across the street. While we are waiting for the official fireworks to begin, we watch the next door neighbors set off illegal fireworks, just like we do every year. We mention that we’re all glad we didn’t park near their house, just like we mention every year. Wondering if the police will ever catch them, like we do every year. We watch the show, with Paul’s hysterically funny impromptu fireworks commentary, and each year it’s fresh and new and leaves us giggling.

Then last year… Jess and I and our epic ‘Road Trip’ to the midwest. So lucky to have spent July 4, 2009 with Rob, Ann, and the kids. Jess remembers being bored until the evening (even though she loved the midwest.) I remember the love I felt just being with family I don’t see enough of.

Here we are this year – again at a classic Scott and Katie bbq, complete with the most interesting people in the world, plus those I love the most. We moved out chairs out to the front lawn, watched the neighbors set off their illegal fireworks, and were all glad we didn’t park nearby. A little change of pace – Torrance police did come by and put a stop to it. We watched the show complete with Paul’s hysterically funny impromptu fireworks commentary – this time enhanced by Sarah and Rachel’s little remarks. We are sad when it’s over – this is the last year the city will be able to afford to put on the show. I feel the love and laughter swirl around me, and I tuck it away, to relive it later. I am with friends, with my family, and with my daughter.

Capture each moment when you can. Time flies by much too fast. xo

5 comments

  1. Thumbs up. Like like like. We made some really great 4th memories of our own this year, so I’m glad you did, too.


  2. Beautiful memories, Torie. Like Michelle- the times we share with family and community (our extended family) are special. And when those times become ritual, it gives a sense of stability to our lives that is difficult to manufacture. Happy times.


    • Btw- great shot, too!


  3. those joyful memories will live inside forever, a lovely tale you shared.


  4. I love this…the importance of family but also community and the past weaving itself into the present. Shared rituals and memories…this years present becomes next years memory.
    Also love the photo….the two of you are a beautiful pair….nice candid shot!



Leave a Reply

