h1

“My 365” July 5, 2010

July 5, 2010
July 5, 2010

July 5, 2010 - melodic

July 5, 2010. 6:48 p.m. PST. ISO 100. Shutter 1/10. Aperture f/4.0. No flash – piano lamp and ambient light.

After a chilly swim this morning, I returned home to curl up and read. Today mostly remained gray and cool. I finished my book, The Angel’s Game by Carlos Ruiz Zafon. His storytelling is melodic, poetic, yet spellbinding. At times I felt captive to the imagery of certain haunting passages. When I closed the book after the last page, I could see doing only one of two things. Music, or painting. The piano first, as it is on the way to my easel. I warmed up, then played my favorite Clementi sonatinas. I’m not a good player, but there is definitely something alluring in the melodies I studied as a teen. The gray day had one burst of clear light, caught in my lens. I finished up, then moved on to the melody of brushing color on canvas.

One comment

  1. Another excellent picture, Torie (and blog to match). I’ve always preferred b&w imagery. Especially with natural light. Good art should inspire. When a book or painting or song touches something in the audience- it can lead to even more creativity.



Leave a Reply

