h1

“My 365” July 6, 2010

July 6, 2010
July 6, 2010

July 6, 2010 - revisiting the rocking chair

July 6, 2010. 7:24 p.m. PST. ISO 100. Shutter 1/5. Aperture 4.0. Setting sunlight through the front windows.

Today – a rough day. Jessica, my only baby, had all four wisdom teeth removed this morning. She was apprehensive and then in pain. I was upset and under stress. Her surgery went fine, but my heart just ached for her with all of her discomfort. I remember when she was small… if she was hurting, frightened, or not feeling well, she would crawl into my lap in this very rocking chair. We would gently sway and I would speak to her of nonsense in a quiet, calm voice until she felt at ease, or until she was asleep. I couldn’t do that for her today, no matter how much I wanted to. Someday, she may do this for her own small child. Meanwhile, I can sit across from her and rock as she reclines in a chair, and talk to her in a quiet, calm voice until she feels better. xo

6 comments

  1. I understand exactly what you are saying. When Andrea was going through the grieving process, I just wanted to take all the pain away, like when she was little. I could not, and I felt so helpless and sad. Mother’s never want their children to suffer.


  2. Beautiful post to go with the beautiful picture. There comes a time when comforting your child has to take a different approach. Best to you and LJ. Hope she gets to feeling better soon.


  3. Nice stems!


    • LOL…You flatter me, thank you!


  4. VERY SWEET TORI !


    • thank you, my dear!



Leave a Reply

