h1

“My 365” July 16, 2010

July 16, 2010

July 16, 2010
July 16, 2010 – a friend

July 16, 2010. 7:53pm PST. ISO 100. Shutter 1/5. Aperture f/3.5. No Flash, evening light through the window.

friend·ship

/ˈfrɛndʃɪp/  –noun

1. the state of being a friend; association as friends: to value a person’s friendship.
Earlier this week, I reached my hand out to someone, with an offer of friendship. It was refused. I don’t think this has ever happened to me before. It left me quite shocked. I was reminded by a current friend that I shouldn’t dwell too much on the rejection, that I no doubt wasn’t meant to be friends with this woman. However, this incident got me to begin thinking about friendship. About friends.
Not that I don’t normally think a lot about friendship. Those of you who know me well know that I think about my friends often. What it did prompt, though, was a thought process whereby I tried to make sense of what kind of a friend I am, and what I am looking for in a friend.

friend

[frend] –noun 1. a person attached to another by feelings of affection or personal regard.
Almost everyone I know wishes to have friends, and wishes to have some close friends. Making friends can be difficult. Especially when circumstances – such as a career change, or a move – occur in your life. Even situations such as marriage or divorce can throw a wrench into any fragile friendship. For many years, I was basically without friends. I had no one to turn to. This fact, and other reasons, made those years the darkest of my life. I swore that making friends would be a priority for me.

“The only way to have a friend is to be one.” Ralph Waldo Emerson.

Somewhere, sometime in the past several years, this quote became embedded in my brain. It made complete sense to me. It still does. One cannot expect a friend to continue to be a friend if you are a constant drain on their good will. Conversely, I have discovered that it is nearly impossible to take on the burdens our your friends and never lean on someone’s shoulder.

I am a good friend. I am a friend to you.I am always here when you need me. Are you a friend to me? xoxo

5 comments

  1. Vicky (it’s what you’ve always been when I think of you)…I’ve been enjoying your posts again – took the time this evening to catch up on the latest. You have a rare talent…

    I hope you still think of me as your friend – just as I think of you…


    • Sangell, of course I think of you as a friend… I just wish I lived closer so I could see you! Ha… who knew I’d end up out here? and yeah, it’s still Vickie, lol! Some things never change. 🙂


  2. Always liked that Emerson quote. Some very hip thoughts on friendship. Accurate, too. Excellent picture, blondie. White looks good on you.


  3. Saw your exchange yeterday about your posts. I do check them out most every day. Just never leave a note. Guess I should do that every now and then.

    Love the Emerson quote. I tend to keeps things close to the vest and I have very few “friends” because of it. I have many folks that I hang out with but not many friends. Guess I’m too Type A for that.

    Anyway, I enjoy your posts! Thx


  4. rocky voice. to adriane. absolutely.



Leave a Reply

