h1

“My 365” July 17, 2010

July 17, 2010
July 17, 2010

July 17, 2010 -- signs

July 17, 2010. 10:21pm PST. ISO 100. Shutter 1.1. Aperture f/4.2. No flash. Lamplight.

Everything is a sign.

You just have to know how to interpret them.

There are times when you should make decisions with your head. There are times when you should make decisions with your heart (be careful!) What I’ve been thinking about today, however, is a very different way to make a decision. And I, for one, admit to not paying attention as often as I should.

There are actually two things involved, as far as I can tell, but they seem to go hand-in-hand. Looking for the ‘signs’, and using your instinct. I never trust myself enough, and end up overthinking things. Or I end up making irrational, emotional decisions with my heart. In both cases, I usually regret the decisions. The decision making part of me I need to listen to more is my instinct. Intuition. Call it what you will. The signs that go along with this can be anything at all.. physical signs, signs from mother nature…in relationships, they are often referred to as ‘Red Flags.’

Even everyday situations give you signs. For example, all morning, I was thinking that maybe I should increase my time at the pool in order to cut out the elliptical (to aid the leg-healing process.) I was hesitant about making that decision… I’m already seeing a greenish tinge to my blonde. On a whim, I walked into 2nd Street Beauty. Lo and behold, they had a product to get the green out. Pool time here I come! This was a very clear sign to me!

Another one: I was cruising around the internet (as usual) and on Facebook, Alpha running had posted a link to an article about the 10 foods an athlete should eat. At the same time, I started to get hungry. I began to read the article. Oh my gosh! Food item #2 – cherries! Exactly what I had purchased at the store on Thursday. Rumbly tummy taken care of with athletic super-food.

Not everything is as clear-cut as these. In the case of when a potential beau doesn’t call you.. is that a sign he doesn’t care, or is he just really busy? Hmmm… tricky! In this case, I would rely on instinct to guide me. Even though I don’t want to.

Everything is a sign. I truly believe this. And I need to rely on my instinct more in order to interpret them. I look at the photo I took tonight. If you look at past photos I’ve taken in this spot, you’ll notice that I normally am on the other side of the bed. I decided today to change that so that my bed doesn’t get all sunken in on one side. I’ll continue to rotate sides as necessary. What does this sign mean? Does the fact that the empty side is neatly made mean anything? I’m encroaching on the empty side, is there significance in that?

My instinct tell me yes. But I need more signs to guide me. xo

One comment

  1. Maybe it’s because I’m a guy, but I prefer not to over-think things. My ‘intuition’ is usually enough.

    I tend to take things as they come. I have the unfortunate habit of putting my own ‘spin’ on things. I should-a been a politician.

    Btw, that’s a very appealing photo, Torie.



Leave a Reply

