h1

“My 365” July 19, 2010

July 19, 2010
July 19, 2010

July 19, 2010 -- Who is?

July 19, 2010. 11:34am PST. ISO 1600. Shutter 1/1250. Aperture f/18. Sunlight.

July 19, 2010

July 19, 2010 --- and what have you done...?

July 19, 2010. 11:32am PST. ISO 1600. Shutter 1/1600. Aperture f/20.0. Sunlight.

Mom said, “Who is this girl, and what have you done with my daughter?

My leg still hurts. A lot. Possibly more than it did two months ago, and I miss running. What I’ve been doing is exactly what the doctor said to do, and swim. (gasp!)

Now for those of you who know me, your reaction might be similar to what my mother said. For those of you who don’t know me, or have only known me a short time, it’s story time!

Once upon a time, there was a little blonde girl who walked from the shallow end of the pool down toward the deep end. With the water well over her head, she stood there, and ignored the #1 rule of swimming. Keep Your Mouth Closed Under the Water! Now, I’m not sure if this is where my phobia began, or if it came along later. I’m not necessarily afraid of the water… I’ve always pretty much been able to float on my back. No, I just panic the minute my face is under the water. Obviously, swimming was not the sport for me.

In college, I actually had a swim instructor for a few weeks who taught me the basics. I began to understand the concepts of the movements and how they worked together. It was the execution of the motions that caused a problem. Or more specifically, putting my face in the water for longer than a nanosecond.

So. Why am I swimming? Because I love running. I don’t want to lose what I’ve worked so hard to gain in my years of running. Two months now of resting my leg.  I began right away with cycling. Four weeks now of swimming 3 days a week, for at least an hour. And finally, finally, I can do it. Yes, I’ve got my act together. The arms, the kick, the breathing, and most importantly, face in the water. Today I swam 1463 meters in 65 minutes.

Yes. Me. Victoria Moss. 120 laps this morning. And for the icing on the cake today, I dove in the water 3x – not quite Olympic quality (haha!) but the best I’ve ever done. -and I haven’t even tried to dive in at least 4 years.

And I’m proud of myself. xo

(yes, the shots are really self-portraits. For the swimming, after I began the timer, I had to hurry to slip in the water and begin swimming. In the first shot I swam too fast and the camera caught only my legs! For the dives, I began the timer, and had to count off the seconds as I walked to the edge of the pool. If my timing was too slow, the camera would catch me still standing at the edge of the pool. If my timing was too fast, the camera would catch me under the water after the dive. – I have a couple of those!)

7 comments

  1. Awesome! Good job on the swimming, and on the timing with the photos!


    • Thanks Dave, your comments mean a lot to me. Got any suggestions/critique?
      xo


  2. Awesome. Almost a mile of swimming, I’d have to say you are currently in better shape than I.


  3. Inspiring…I still have that fear of water but at the same time it calls me – I really want to swim! This gives me hope that I might actually manage it!


  4. Great action shots, Torie! Well timed. Also, excellent story about overcoming fear.


  5. Awesome.


  6. Good stuff. Enjoyed todays pics and story, Torie.



Leave a Reply

