h1

“My 365” July 20, 2010

July 20, 2010
July 20, 2010

July 20, 2010 -- manual, not automatic

July 20, 2010. 3:00:54pm PST. ISO 100. Shutter 1/60. Aperture f/5.6. No flash, natural daylight

A good day: conversations with friends, neighbors, family. Wishing some people Happy Birthday, and others Congratulations. Many hours spent painting, and special time with Jessica. However, the photo above is my big achievement today.

“How so?” You may ask. “It is a pretty average photo. Nothing spectacular at all.” –In fact, (I’ll admit) it is pretty boring.

Well, here’s why: Since April 14th, 2009, I’ve taken 105 self portraits. In the beginning, I had the camera on ‘Automatic’ everything.  Today I did not set the camera on ‘automatic’ anything. Today the camera was entirely on ‘manual.’ The success or failure of the photo was up to me. So, although not the greatest photo in the world; this, the 106th photo in “My 365”, is notable. I am on my way towards one of the reasons for this project. I am learning my camera.

The other reason for the project is still developing. I am only just beginning to learn about myself. xo

3 comments

  1. I don’t know, I find the photo kind of beautiful! And, as a fellow artist and photographer, and a friend; I am proud of your accomplishment!


  2. It’s good to see you hitting the easel again, Torie! It’s also very hip to hear you’re checking out the full Manual settings. The shot looks good. Well done, blondie!


  3. Well done! I just point and hope for the best.



Leave a Reply

