h1

“My 365” July 24, 2010

July 24, 2010
July 24, 2010

July 24, 2010 -- confident

July 24, 2010. 7:27pm PST. ISO 100. Shutter 1/10. Aperture f/16.0. No flash. (exposure bias -1.00) Again, all manual.

That’s my name. Tobias Eckhoff. Too bad, I don’t have a middle name.

You could be ‘To Bias Eckhoff.’

Hopefully I am not. By the way, what’s your name?

Victoria Lynne Moss. But most people just call me ‘Vickie.’

That’s a really nice name, I mean it, Vickie. You can call me “Toby” if you think Tobias is too long or you don’t know how to pronounce it.

You should write me your address, so that I know it, and can write to you. Besides the family that I am living with, I know one other person (she lives in Bonn) and I just met Jamey, he’s from Nebraska, staying in Hamburg.

So, now you know me, too, don’t you? Here’s my address.
Tobias Eckhoff

Fuhrenkamp 71 (is that a seventy-one?)
3201 Verden (is that a thirty-two-oh-one?)
I also have a telephone hotline, but the # requires a special demand.

Very funny.
shall I ask for the #? It would be nice to know a lot of people in my New Country.

I had the same problem, so I’ll give you my number: 04561/65317
The 1’s are both ‘ones’.

Now I have another question – will customs be difficult? I hope not, my luggage might not close if they open it.

I don’t think you’ll have any problems. If you need help, just come with me.

Thanks!

—August 22, 1984. On the plane from Amsterdam to Hamburg.

I was confident then. I flew from O’Hare International Airport to Amsterdam, then on to Hamburg by myself. I was eighteen years old, and very naive. I trusted people, but I remained confident. It carried me through that year, and into my freshman year in college. Circumstances (and life) happened. I lost this confidence. I happily welcome it back into my life again, now. July 24, 2010. xo

4 comments

  1. This is a great picture of you! I love it. I don’t believe that your confidence ever left you … it was always there, just hovering, waiting for you to reclaim it. You’re an awesome lady and I’m happy to know you! =)


  2. Good to hear you’ve got your confidence back, Torie. The photo shows it, I think. I like the way that you’re in the light from the window. Very symbolic.


  3. Vickie,
    I saw your picture and wondered at how your have stayed so beautiful. You have not aged a day since I met you. And then I read the posting You are much braver than most people I know! Keep it up and share it with your daughter.


    • Aww Tina, of course I’ve aged, lol!!! I’m 44 now! When we met… I was 34. Can you believe it?
      And yes, I’m still quite the chicken. But I know I can do it (whatever ‘it’ is) and I make myself do it. No excuses!
      Love you!!



Leave a Reply

