h1

“My 365” July 28, 2010

July 28, 2010
July 28, 2010

July 28, 2010 -- dress up

July 28, 2010. 7:39pm PST. ISO 100. Shutter 1/3. Aperture f/4.0. Manual exposure. No flash. No exposure bias.


Remember when you were little and you put on your prettiest clothes,(or your mother’s or your sister’s!)  shoes that were too big, and the reddest lipstick you could find? Playing dress-up was so much fun. Forty+  years ago, Disney Princesses weren’t as popular as they are now. We dressed up to look like royalty, or at the very minimum, as if we were wealthy – right down to the giant Kentucky Derby hat!

Here we are in 2010. Casual is more than just an option on Friday. It has become the standard uniform everywhere. In fact, very rarely do people even going to church get dressed up! In the past, housewives still looked put-together, even when vacuuming! Business professionals looked professional – the men wore suits and ties, the women crisp blouses, slim skirts with heels and hosiery. Even when traveling, people put on their best. The airline passengers looked more as if they were going to meet the queen, rather than getting on an airplane to travel great distances. As most of us know, the most common items of clothing while traveling in this era are no doubt blue jeans, t-shirts, or warm-ups.

I love getting dressed up. Choosing a flattering dress, carefully applying a little make-up, finding the most stunning accessories, and of course, showing off my shoe collection are activities that I find enjoyable. I wish there were more opportunities to do so. Going out to dinner, going to the theater, or dancing no longer require one to wear anything different or make special preparations.This saddens me!

Tonight, I did make special preparations. I chose my dress, applied mascara and lipstick, found pretty earrings and a bracelet, and put on my very favorite heels. In truth I had nowhere to go, so it may appear that I am all dressed up for nothing. To the contrary, I am attired for something important.

I am dressed up for myself. xo

4 comments

  1. You are right about “getting dressed up”, I always feel like there has to be some special occasion to “dress up”. But when you look at the big picture, as you did, we really don’t. By the way love the dress!


  2. It’s also amazing how getting ‘spiffed up’ boosts one’s morale and self-image. One looks and feels better. It does a body good!


  3. That is really the only reason to do it 😀 Make yourself feel good and you will look good…and vice versa… Lovely photo too!


  4. Beautiful!



Leave a Reply

