h1

“My 365” August 6, 2010

August 6, 2010
August 6, 2010

August 6, 2010 --laugh

August 6, 2010. 5:29pm PST. ISO 100. Shutter 1/5. Aperture f/36.0. Manual exposure, sunlight.

Many things in life bring me joy.

a crescent moon
my cat curled up next to me
laughter of children playing
hugs from my parents
giggles and smiles from my teenage daughter

all of these things are free
most happy things are

the rush of wind through my hair when I run
the intoxicating scent of jasmine
a special song sent to me
a student saying ‘You’re my favorite teacher!’
the twinkle of sun on the pool water when I swim

when the mirth inside bubbles up and out
that’s when I start to giggle

dogs playing together in a yard
ocean waves and sand pulling and sliding under my feet.
my 4 year old neighbor singing
when I’ve done something silly on accident
swinging as high as I can on the swings

a hopeful warmth flows through me
up and out in my voice which softens
at some things that make me smile instantly

dancing to music
hearing the voice of someone special
a paintbrush in my hand
a message from a friend
the purr of my cats

I am beginning to believe
that if people would slow down and notice
all of the things in the world that bring joy
then there would be more smiles and laughter

xo

4 comments

  1. Small things/observations are the basis of happy. I’m sorry that i didn’t understand your blog till now (I”M SPECIAL!!!!). great ideas & fabulous shots.


  2. Very nice, it is the simple things in life that cost us nothing and yet enrich our lives 🙂
    Don


  3. Beautiful thoughts, Torie! I think you’re exactly right- take joy in every aspect of life that brings it, however ‘small’. Drink in every instant and moment of life!

    Incidentally- I’ve noticed how much your more recent pictures have you smiling. It’s a great look, blondie! Also, your ‘full manual’ skills are excellent! I really like the framing with the yucca (?) plant.


  4. this made me happy!!! xoxox



Leave a Reply

