h1

“My 365” August 8, 2010

August 8, 2010
August 8, 2010

August 8, 2010 --texting you

August 8, 2010. 4:50pm PST. ISO 100. Shutter 1/80. Aperture f/10.0. Manual exposure, no flash.

My grandmother and great-aunties remembered what life was like before electricity and telephones were the norm. My parents remember the radio shows, and though television was available to the public as early as the late 1930’s, color television wasn’t publicly available until 1951 (then suspended and reintroduced in 1953.)

In the early to mid 1940’s the first programmable computers were invented, but not publicly available. The 1970’s showed a great deal of progress in this area, but home computers didn’t really become available until the 1980’s. I should be able to remember life before home computers, right?

The early 1970’s witnessed the dawn of the neanderthal mobile phones. Since their conception, mobile phones have become smaller, faster, easier, and may be used in multiple ways.

The first photograph was taken in 1814. The photo wasn’t permanent, and faded. The history of the camera can be dated all the way back to the year 1021, to its predecessor, the Camera Obscura. Over the course of several centuries, the camera has become smaller, more precise, more permanent, and more available. Now, we have digital cameras.

I stand here texting. Taking photos, making calls, watching videos, surfing the internet, chatting on social media–all on the same small hand-held device! I’ve got to ask myself… what next? Where do we go from here? Isn’t life amazing!?!

On a different note…
My roof deck. A dress. Pretty shoes. Chairs and tables. There’s food in the pantry and drinks in the cabinet.

All that I’m missing are guestsxo

7 comments

  1. This photo was taken in 2010, and it’s great. Lovely color dress.


  2. Great photo. Lighting is very flattering.
    I also wonder….. and sometimes it makes me sad.
    I feel all of the technology has isolated us more than brought us together. I spend an incredible amount of time in the electronic world of emails, Twitter, etc and yet the time I spend with a person speaking one-on-one (actually making eye contact and listening) is still so much more satisfying. So I also ask…. what next? Nut maybe from a different perspective.


    • Hi George,
      Must admit, me with just my cell phone and macbook can become pretty lonely… as in, “My boyfriend’s name is Mac Book.” lol!

      The lighting where I live is incredible. I’m very lucky!


  3. The pace of change that technology has brought is getting faster. I’m not incredibly ancient, but I can remember party-lines, black & white TV (with only a handful of channels) and pop music without auto-tune! 🙂

    My invite must’ve got lost in the mail.


    • I’d forgotten about auto-tune! Having to search for the station you wanted… haha!
      If there had been invites, they would have been lost in the *e-mail*, lol!


  4. Well, did you invite any over?

    😉

    Good post!


    • Thanks Dave!
      No, didn’t invite anyone over. I have extended twitter invites before, no one comes, lol!



Leave a Reply

