h1

“My 365” August 10, 2010

August 10, 2010
August 10, 2010

August 10, 2010 --the balcony

August 10, 2010. 7:12pm PST. ISO 100. Shutter 1/320. Aperture f/5.6. Manual exposure, no flash.

Our family moved from Michigan to Plainfield, Illinois, in the spring of 1972. All of the houses on Harris Drive were brand new… in fact, there were many vacant lots. It was going to be a new ‘subdivision.’ We were basically one street out in the middle of a couple of cornfields.
We were actually very lucky. Our neighborhood attracted families with children just like it had attracted us. We all made friends with the kids on the street. For us, being out in the middle of nowhere had endless opportunities for fun. One of those was having endless freedom during the long summer days to roam around the area and use our imaginations.
My best friend those first 5 years in Plainfield was Susie. She was a year younger than I, but we always got along well. We both also thought it was awfully convenient that my younger brother Rob was the same age as her younger sister Dawnie, and so we often used them in whatever scheme we could come up with.
When I was about 9 or 10, Susie and I decided we were going to put on a play for our families. My dad had built a playhouse on the back of our garage (a large deck with walls and a ramp… a glorified balcony) that we decided would make an excellent castle. We rustled up our Halloween costumes, and roped our younger siblings into being in the play. Our chosen drama was “Sleeping Beauty.”
Rob, being the only boy in our group, of course had to be the Prince. It only made sense that Dawnie would be Sleeping Beauty.. she had lovely blonde curls and blue eyes and freckles (didn’t we all think freckles were cool?) Susie wanted a big part… She chose to be the Evil Witch/Queen. Also convenient, as she had the costume!
>>Here’s the crazy part. I have no idea what I did. I suspect I was the narrator. Not a leading part like I would have dreamed of, but more of a supporting role. (these days, I’m not the so much the narrator at events, but I’m often the photographer…again, a supporting role!)

What I do remember is putting on that play in front of our families in the twilight of a summer evening. The humidity turning to a damp coolness as the sun went beyond the horizon, the wonderful lightening bugs, the laughter, the conversation, the friendship, the love.

These are the memories to hold on to. xo

3 comments

  1. Great memories, Torie. I miss those times, when a kid’s imagination was enough to fill a summer day. Hip ‘peek-a-boo’ shot from the balcony, too. 🙂


  2. That’s exactly what I remember as well. Fun times.


  3. The memories of childhood are so fun. Times were carefree and fun. I just want to tell my children “enjoy it all cause it passes by so quickly”!

    Thanks Torie.



Leave a Reply

