h1

“My 365” August 15, 2010

August 15, 2010
August 15, 2010

August 15, 2010 --always the same

August 15, 2010. 9:55pm PST. ISO 100. Shutter 6. Aperture f/9.0. Manual exposure, no flash.

The dream is always the same.
It’s dark, no stars in the sky. The moon is new, barely a sliver in the sky flitting in and out behind sinuous clouds. The city buildings loom around me, ill-boding in their immense angularity. The empty streets are shiny from recent rain. It’s silent all around me. The silence itself puts me in jeopardy as I quickly make my way through the avenues and alleys, small footsteps seem to echo and give my location away.
My child held close to me, inside my wrap. A hood covers my hair which tends to catch what little light there is. I cannot afford to draw attention to myself. My pulse is racing and I force myself to stay calm, to think rationally. I twist and wind my way through the city, clinging to the shadows, anxious to find safety for my child. We are being followed.
A man. A sinister man with no conscience. I don’t know why. I don’t know when. I don’t know where.
The streets are deserted. There is no sign of life anywhere. As I move ever faster the menacing presence remains always close.

Next, I know we are in my home. Always the same. I feel relief. We are safe, I think to myself. I am exhausted, my child cradled in my arms for what has seemed like an eternity, yet I am unwilling to let go. I crawl into bed with her, deep under the covers up close to the wall. I see the thin crescent moon out my window. It is night in my dream. Forever night. I fall asleep, my love for my child enveloping us.

I’m awake. Danger permeates the air. He is in the room. My child is gone. Somewhere there is screaming. Am I awake? Am I asleep? I cannot tell… I cannot breathe, I cannot move. The pain in my heart so intense. And the screaming…

Always the same. The only time I dream in black and white.

All my other dreams are in color.

xo

2 comments

  1. Wow! Excellent, suspenseful piece, Torie! Hopefully your ‘dreams’ aren’t always like this- sleepless nights would be constant. Great dreamy picture to go along with.


  2. I used to have similar dreams. Black and white, being chased. Very scary. Or else, I would be stranded somewhere, god knows where, and it’s getting very, very dark.



Leave a Reply

