h1

“My 365” August 19, 2010

August 19, 2010
August 19, 2010

August 19, 2010 --purpose

August 19, 2010. 9:15pm PST. ISO 100. Shutter 3. Aperture f/8.0. Manual exposure, no flash.

Walking around the house today. Not even supposed to be doing that? What does it mean, to rest your leg?
It sounds easy… to do nothing active. To just sit around. Put your feet up… let others do things.

It’s not as easy as it sounds. Consequently… I start wandering, thinking of all the things I should be doing… laundry, cleaning, grocery shopping, exercising, painting, plus all the other things that keep me busy and give my life meaning.

I wander around. I sigh. Jessica looks at me. “Mamma, what’s wrong?”
“I’m at loose ends. I feel lost.” I answer. “I feel like I have no purpose.”
“You have a purpose. You are my mamma,” she responded.

So.
I’m thinking …. “to rest your leg” … means that I should slow down to enjoy my time with my daughter while I have it, instead of rushing off to do ‘things.’

The wisdom of a 17 year old has proven to be greater that that of a 44 year old. xo

2 comments

  1. Jessica is right! Those other “things” can wait. Are they going anywhere? No. Is Jessica growing and changing? Yes! The silver lining is to spend some quality time with her. Take it from me, you really miss them when they’re gone.


  2. Sometimes it takes a different perspective, Torie. I realise it’s difficult but the longer you can ‘rest’ your leg, the sooner it will heal. What is it about human nature? It seems that, when we’re told we ‘can’t’ or ‘shouldn’t’ do something, that ‘something’ becomes even more appealing. Resist the temptation, blondie!
    Hip picture of you and LJ relaxing. Get off that leg! 🙂



Leave a Reply

