h1

“My 365” August 20, 2010

August 20, 2010
August 20, 2010

August 20, 2010 -- the running

August 20, 2010. 9:18pm PST. ISO 100. Shutter 4. Aperture f/7.1. Manual exposure, no flash.

It all began with walking. Or maybe it always does?

I never intended to become a runner. I never intended to become any type of athlete. I just wanted to raise my child and teach. Live life quietly. As best I could.

And then we got the photos back from vacation. Wow. I looked terrible… years older than what I really was. And thinking about it now, I realize I felt years older than what I actually was. So I decided it was time to be a little bit healthier. I’d read about walking for fitness, decided this was for me. So I walked down these very stairs every afternoon -at first. I went out walking for fitness. It would have worked great, if I hadn’t been so bored. And frustrated at the amount of time it was taking to get fit. And hot.
I decided to get up earlier and do my walking before work, rather than wait until it was so hot in the afternoon. I began to do little jogging steps in between long patches of walking. After a few weeks, I noticed that my jogging periods had gotten longer and faster, my walking less and less. I was loving the feeling of the wind in my hair. I was reveling in the motion of the muscles in my body. Who knew I could actually do something like this?
I was motivated to continue, based on the feelings the jogging was giving me. After a couple of months, I was jogging continuously for longer periods of time, and often found myself increasing my pace to an actual run.

This was what started the running. I remember walking down these stairs, and checking to see that I had everything I needed before I headed out. By the time I’d reached the bottom step, my soul had already flown out the door and begun my run.

I don’t think my soul has stopped running since that August, eight years ago. xo

2 comments

  1. My friend, you WILL run again. And one day, we WILL run together …


  2. “A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.” Sometimes we’re diverted, momentarily, but the journey always continues.
    A great shot on the stairs, Torie. You seem to have the whole ‘full manual’ thing down pretty well.



Leave a Reply

