h1

“My 365” August 21, 2010

August 21, 2010
August 21, 2010

August 21, 2010 -- drawing and art

August 21, 2010. 7:49pm PST. ISO 100. Shutter 1.6. Aperture f/7.1. Manual exposure, no flash.

August 1985. I returned from my year in Germany. I began college at Bradley University. As an entering freshman, my declared major was broadcast journalism. As someone who had been out of the country, I got no classes of any type in journalism.

There were very few general education courses that fit in with my freshman schedule. One of my electives was already a German Literature 300 course. I didn’t have very many electives to choose from… they’d already filled up by the time I got back to the USA. In reviewing the courses open to me (of which there were few) it was suggested that I take a drawing course. The only one that had any openings left was figure drawing. I had no idea what that was. I signed up anyway, desperate to fill my schedule.

As a girl who had traveled halfway around the world, I wasn’t very worldly. My very first day of class, I thought I would die of embarrassment… and I wasn’t even the model! I had never taken a drawing class before. I had never seen people, publicly, ohne Kleidung/sans habillement. In fact, the only ‘art’ classes I had ever taken had been general art instruction in school, and a pottery class in high school.

I was way out of my element. So far out of my element, that I didn’t even know where to turn. I continued on, attending every class, listening to every critique, trying to critique (at the urging of the instructor) in spite of the fact that I was still more comfortable speaking German than English.

Imagine my surprise when I received an ‘A’ in the course.

xo

2 comments

  1. Love the pic…I see girl-cat is being quite the model again! Also the story…sometimes big changes in life can happen for the most random of reasons…


  2. Maybe being in a new new situation and a new environment caused you to be more conscious of everything. One is bound to absorb as much as possible.
    I like the moggy pic. I hope he wasn’t making an editorial comment on the book. …Or anything else.



Leave a Reply

