h1

“My 365” August 22, 2010

August 22, 2010
August 22, 2010

August 22, 2010 -- gains vs. losses

August 22, 2010. 7:31pm PST. ISO 100. Shutter 0.4. Aperture f/7.1. Manual exposure, no flash.

Back to work tomorrow. Looking forward to the new school year. The new students with new challenges. This next week will be filled with getting the classroom and curriculum ready. Today, much thought went into something more personal- my professional appearance.

This photo shows how my hair will be worn most of the time. The past year has taken its toll on it. What used to be my crowning glory is now a sad mess. My hair suffered major losses and damage from my thyroid, as well as damage from harsh pool chemicals from swimming (because of my injured leg!) My hair is showing the amount of stress my body feels. Luckily, the loss and damage is reversible. It will simply take time. I will need to be patient.

This past year has been filled with many changes for me, many challenges. Upon reflection, I have made considerable gains in my personal and professional life. I can only think of two losses, and my hair was one of them.

xo

4 comments

  1. If you can only think of two losses, I’d say you’re doing pretty well. I hope work was good today.


  2. Have a great school year, Torie! Dealing with youngsters, you know how important patience is. It’s as important in your healing, too.
    Great photo- I’m a big fan of reflective imagery.


  3. I think you look great! Your body will heal with time. Have a great school year!


  4. You’re an awesome woman and a magnificent teacher. Yes, patience is your friend as you continue to heal. I wish you the best for your next school year and always. xoxo Oh btw, your hair up is lovely.



Leave a Reply

