h1

“My 365” August 23, 2010

August 23, 2010
August 23, 2010

August 23, 2010 -- pristine silence

August 23, 2010. 6:37pm PST. ISO 100. Shutter 0.769231. Aperture f/5.0. Manual exposure, no flash.

space and silence

pristine silence
awaits me inside
glancing around
I easily see
there’s nowhere to hide.

the kitchen chair
in which you should be
in your absence
tauntingly vacant
a challenge for me

then reach for strength
I find deep within
frightened, alone
this blank solitude
empty, cannot win

when you come home
you fill up the space
even quiet
it’s not noise I crave
but you I’ll embrace

xo

3 comments

  1. I remember feeling that way. I know it is hard. It is hard to let go. Remember she will always be your little girl.


  2. Beautiful verse, Torie. That melancholy is part of being the parent of a child on the verge of breaking out on their own. Captured as well in your photo as it is expressed in your poem. You really are very talented, blondie.


  3. I know the feeling and the look well. It is tough as they get older. Things will be different but hopefully you get to see and be with them while they go through this transformation and emerge as a new person called an adult. An adult who will always be the child you love. Peace and joy.



Leave a Reply

