h1

“My 365” August 26, 2010

August 26, 2010
August 26, 2010

August 26, 2010 --the start

August 26, 2010. 4:05pm PST. ISO 100. Shutter 1/6. Aperture f/6.3. Manual exposure, no flash.

above: Desperately trying to get my classroom ready for the year.

I remember my first teaching job offer(s). Both the one cloaked in deceit, and the real one. I’m going to focus on the real one, because that is what led me to where I am today.

I was already working at a school, but decided that I didn’t belong there. I went to a job fair, on the off chance I’d get something. I applied at every district, every table. I spoke with principals, with other teachers, with office staff. I’m not quite sure how it happened, but somehow I ended up talking with the Assistant Superintendent at Lemoore Union School District. As I recall, it was a wonderful conversation, fast paced and interesting. I thought nothing of it (being a brand new teacher – not even fully certified!) until I received a phone call to come in for a formal interview.

The thrill of getting hired for my first real teaching position, the surprise of it all, will be a feeling I’ll never forget.

xo

One comment

  1. It must feel good to be back in your ‘home away from home’. It shows on your face, Torie. Hip story about getting your first real teaching gig. Getting into a profession you clearly have a passion for is a moment that can’t help but be a very fond memory. So glad there are teachers like you.



Leave a Reply

