h1

“My 365” September 9, 2010

September 9, 2010
September 9, 2010

September 9, 2010 --the woman

September 9, 2010. 6:17pm PST. ISO 100. Shutter 1/13. Aperture f/13.0. Manual exposure, no flash.

I was out on a photo-walk when out of the corner of my eye I saw a woman, who for some reason, seemed to draw my attention. We both stopped walking at the same time, and I looked directly at her.
She looked directly back.

She looked vaguely familiar, but I couldn’t put my finger on the reason for that feeling. My gaze turned into a stare, but I did not feel uncomfortable, for she was staring back at me. I could almost see her mind working as she frankly assessed me, yet I was doing the same thing.

She was my height, with blondish hair. She was tinier than I am, and I envied her this. She too had a camera, so I guessed we shared this interest. Her eyes looked at me, unabashedly, and I could see that she had nothing to hide from the world. To me this mean she probably had a good character. The openness of her face seemed welcoming, and when I smiled at this, I could see her smile back at me. A quick smile, which went up to her eyes.
Her eyes were greenish. They seemed to change a bit with the light. Her face, not particularly pretty, yet there was something compelling about her that made her attractive in spite of the lack of classical beauty. Perhaps it was in the directness of her gaze. Perhaps it was the strength and confidence that seemed to radiate from her. There was intelligence in her eyes, but the wrinkles on her face also showed that she had spent a lot of time smiling and laughing.
She moved with self-assurance, which gave her small frame a sense of grace. Perhaps she was a dancer or an athlete. The lift of her head and the set of her shoulders showed that she had some pride, although not arrogance.

I felt as if I already knew her, even though she was probably a stranger. I wanted to be like her, I decided. Giving her a nod, I lifted up my camera to take her photo. She lifted up her camera at the same time. We stood there, each taking a photo of the other. When we were done, I noticed that we both had our cameras in our left hands.

At that moment, I so desperately wanted to make contact. I put my right hand up, palm facing out, and she did the same. Walking closer, our hands met, palm on palm, fingertip on fingertip. A gentle smile of acknowledgement moved across her face, and I felt myself smiling at the same time.
Another nod, and then we each pulled our hands away. A quick little wave, and she turned to go, as did I.

The moment had passed and I had seen the person who I wished to become.

xo

3 comments

  1. I’m sorry I haven’t visited the site in a while. This was a wonderful photo essay. Vicky, it is you, just that life buries us sometime. The exciting part is your rediscovery and work you’re doing to reclaim yourself. Love you. Micki


  2. Simply beautiful, Torie!


  3. I like this one. 🙂



Leave a Reply

