h1

“My 365” September 15, 2010

September 15, 2010
September 15, 2010

September 15, 2010 -- hopeless romantic

September 15, 2010. 8:46pm PST. ISO 100. Shutter 2.5. Aperture f/9.0. Manual exposure, no flash.

As a woman:

I need to plant my feet more firmly on hard reality.

Too often, I find myself wading in the turquoise sea of wishes and dreams. As the warm water caresses my legs, the sun is rising. I scan the horizon for the boat with the tall mast and the white sails.

This lovely sailboat exists only in the books I read. The truth is that my feet should be firmly on the hard floor where I know where I stand.

So.

xo

6 comments

  1. I love this…but there is room for the ground, the sea, and the sailing boat – strength and wisdom lies in not losing sight of the ground, navigating the seas, steering the boat.


    • I’m still waiting for the boat… when it gets here, then I’ll set sail… navigate by stars….

      xoxo


  2. Not quite sure why, but I think this is one of your best posts so far xoxo


    • Thank you Rachel!
      Yes, though it is sad for me to drop my dreams, this post did end up being a good one, for technical and aesthetic reasons.
      xo


  3. Great perspective shot, Torie! There’s a multi-media look to it that illustrates the post well. Dreams, hopes, desires and wishes are all important. They give us goals to reach for. However, it is good to remember that:
    “If you want to make your dreams come true, wake up. Wake up to your own strength. Wake up to the role you play in your own destiny. Wake up to the power you have to choose what you think, do, and say.” – Keith Ellis


    • Waking up is hard to do….
      😉



Leave a Reply

