h1

“My 365” September 26, 2010

September 26, 2010
September 26, 2010

September 26, 2010 -- from the inside out

September 26, 2010. 8:06pm PST. ISO 100. Shutter 1.3. Aperture f/6.3. Manual exposure, no flash.

I’ve gotten quite good recently at using the little ‘touch-up’ tool on iphoto to erase the dark circles and wrinkles. I’m actually pleased that I know how to use them and when to use them to make the photo that much more attractive to the viewer. Half of this project was intended to be a learning experience for me and the technicalities of the camera, the aesthetics of the composition.

The other half of the project was an opportunity for growth, the intention being that I take a look at myself. To give an honest appraisal of where I’ve been, what I’ve done, who I am, and where I’m going.

This…. this is me. Victoria. Dressed for comfort, rather than trends. My only make-up is lipstick and mascara. My messy hair in a ponytail. Dark circles under my eyes. Stress showing in my forehead. Shiny skin from the triple-digit heat today. Wrinkles around my eyes and mouth. There is no touch-up tool here. This is me, and I am taking an honest look at myself.

I am not fashion conscious. I’m not a slave to making my face look model perfect and ten years younger than what I am. My focus is elsewhere… my daughter, my career, my art, my personal life, my family. I am 44 years old, I love what I do, I adore my daughter, have a talent to be nurtured, a personal life to treasure. Everything I have I’ve worked hard for. My wrinkles are proof of this. I am smart, and kind, and loving. I am dedicated, honest, loyal. I persevere, I am strong, and I have integrity. These things should be a true measure of beauty, not the physical facade visible to the world.

There is outward beauty. This fades. There is inward beauty. This grows. I look at myself, and the outside is not who I am. I am beautiful on the inside.

xo

4 comments

  1. Honesty – Works every time. Very nice post.


  2. The ‘inside beauty’ serves to enhance the ‘outside beauty’. It almost never works, the other way ’round. You are beautiful, inside and out, Torie. The picture is proof.


  3. Very nice šŸ™‚ You look, healthy happy and quite beautiful.

    Don


  4. Hi Beautiful!!!



Leave a Reply

