h1

“My 365” September 30, 2010

September 30, 2010
September 30, 2010

September 30, 2010 --success

September 30, 2010. 9:22pm PST. ISO 100. Shutter 4. Aperture f/10.0. Manual exposure, no flash.

The bell rings, nerves jump. In they walk, looking around. Shaking on the inside, ‘Welcome’ I say. Nervous too? I can’t tell, some seem at ease. Then a face I recognize, and another, they smile at me, I smile back. Deep breath, begin. Stilted at first, it’s been a year. but then smoother, more practiced this time. It’s been 13 years now.

They ask questions, I answer. This year, I have answers. I have technology, I have knowledge, I have experience. And answers. Tensions ease as I finish and thank. They want to shake hands, talk, tell me personal things. Smiling, connecting, writing, laughing, talking. Some from previous years, they are glad to see me again. Yes, and it feels right.

Who’s that in the back? School board member through both sessions. And wants to talk at the end, bring me a book, be a guest reader. We stay and chat. It’s easy. It’s good. It’s successful.

This night back to school.

xo

5 comments

  1. Hey you!

    I don’t always comment but I try to read and look at your latest pic as much as possible. Awesome stuff! 🙂

    Wesley


  2. Great picture, Torie! Forgive me, I missed something. You teach night school, too? You are amazing!


    • No, it was Back-to-School Night where I meet the parents and explain the curriculum and policies. 🙂


      • My mistake. Must’ve been a long night. The encounter w the board member sounded good. Glad it was a successful night, T.


  3. I admire you, greatly. Thank you for sharing your experiences and successes with me. Xoxo

    btw, You’re lovely and your dress is pretty.



Leave a Reply

