h1

“My 365” October 3, 2010

October 3, 2010
October 3, 2010

October 3, 2010 --the risk

October 3, 2010. 8:22pm PST. ISO 100. Shutter 0.769231. Aperture f/11.0. Manual exposure, no flash.

I took the risk. I’m not normally a risk taker. I want to be as sure as possible that the consequences of my actions will be favorable. When you take a risk, you are jumping off into the unknown, placing your trust… in fate? In God? In….???
Whatever happens is no longer in your command.

That out of control, letting go feeling. The jumping off the swing as it reaches its apex. Stomach flip-flops, heart races, head spins as you fly through the air, trusting that when you reach the ground, the flight will have been well worth whatever the pull of gravity will bring. Hoping that the landing will be soft, that someone will be there with you.

Yes. I took that risk. Completely out of character.

But some things are worth taking a risk for.

xo

3 comments

  1. Taking risks is hard for me too. I feel better when I am in control. Taking a risk, makes me feel vulnerable and shakes up my world as I know it. I need more practice with taking risks.


  2. I’m not a great risk taker either. But, after all the precautions are taken, there comes a time when you just have to step from the comfortable to the unknown. It can be frightening but, if the reward is important enough and we want it bad enough, it’s more than worth the risk. Also- Great picture Torie! Cheeky? Yes (and nicely so). Frumpy? Bah!


  3. Lovely post…love your cheeky smile there!



Leave a Reply

