h1

“My 365” October 4, 2010

October 5, 2010

October 4, 2010

October 4, 2010 -- expectations

October 4, 2010. 7:12pm PST. ISO 100. Shutter 0.769231. Aperture f/5.6. Manual exposure, no flash. (also, no cat in the photo tonight!)

Expectations. Confusing. Especially when it comes to people.

What do people expect of me? What do I expect of them? In the past, I had been worried more about what they expect of me. That never turned out to be a problem, it seemed as if I rarely disappointed.

I tried lowering my criteria for others, yet hold myself to the same standard I have always expected. Yet in lowering my criteria, I set myself up for disappointment, instability, and hurt.

Therefore, I choose to keep my expectations higher. Some may say the criterion I ask for from people is too high. That I will never find anyone even close to my standards and that I can very well expect to be alone the rest of my life. Yet my expectations are truly simple…. I expect others to treat me the same as I treat them. I hope others would give 100% when asked, just as I give 100% when I am asked to do so. Is it unreasonable to expect others to commit to something when they have requested that I already do so? I use myself as a benchmark for respect, compassion, caring, integrity, and commitment.
To lower the paradigm would be to lower what I expect from myself. I simply cannot do this.

Expectations. A conundrum which remains to be solved.

xo

3 comments

  1. Yes. Gut feelings are also good to listen to.


  2. Yes!


  3. Stick to high standards, Torie. You deserve someone worthy of you. Besides, those standards will always be in the back of your mind and, if someone doesn’t measure up- they will eventually disappoint you.



Leave a Reply

