h1

“My 365” October 15, 2010

October 16, 2010

 

October 15, 2010

October 15, 2010 -- my heart

 

October 15, 2010. 7:18pm PST. ISO 100. Shutter 1/4. Aperture f/4.2. Manual exposure, no flash.

My Heart…

I relaxed in the glory of my win. Even the boys were intimidated. “Hey!” Joel shouted. “She’s the Bionic Woman!” But I didn’t even take offense to that.  I had beaten every girl, and then every boy in heats one after the other.  Patti, Brian, and Barb had made certain the starts and finish lines were clean. I was the fastest student in fifth grade. Running. It brought joy to my heart. I ran like the wind, and it felt good. Blood pumping and body singing from the effort to have wings. Never mind these things…. whatever you call them, on my legs. And the ugly shoes attached. ‘Cable-twister leg braces’. Yeah, those.

I had cried the day my parents drove me up to Aurora to get fitted for them. I think I was in fourth grade? I had cried the day the company had called and said they were ready. I had cried the day we got the shoes that would attach to them. The ugly shoes that I would even have to wear in my sleep. I had cried the first day of school, knowing the kids would laugh at me. But no one at school saw me crying. I played it off as if I were special to have these things down my legs, from hips to the heel of my shoes. I had *velcro* at the knees, and this stuff was new and exciting, right?

I wore them into sixth grade. I began my adolescence in leg braces. It hurt my heart, my soul, to be different from the others. But I survived. And I can still run. And I can still find the joy in my blood pumping and body singing from the effort to have wings. That – brings joy to my heart.

xo

 

October 15, 2010

October 15, 2010 --wings

 

October 15, 2010. 7:27pm PST. ISO 100. Shutter 1/4. Aperture f/4.8. Manual exposure, no flash.

5 comments

  1. Courage is a fine thing, when used. You’re awesome to endure and wonderful to share your story. xoxo


  2. Wow! Why did you have to wear the braces? That explains your love for running. The rush of freedom. Running away from home, work and life at least for the time you are running.


  3. Loved this post 🙂

    ❤ Kelly ❤


  4. Excellent post, Torie, about success despite obstacles. I would never have guessed that you had worn leg braces. It helps explain why you find such joy in running and such loss, when you are unable to. Good that you have no need for them anymore. Also glad that you’re getting back to the running.
    Great pictures too, blondie.


  5. I cried too.



Leave a Reply

