h1

“My 365” November 3, 2010.

November 4, 2010
November 3, 2010

November 3, 2010 --look with your eyes

November 3, 2010. 6:19pm PST. ISO 100. Shutter 2.5. Aperture f/6.3. Manual exposure, no flash.

He was in the line for bus number 8. Cute little guy, I knelt down to tie his shoelace. He saw me smile and go down on one knee, and obligingly stuck out the offending shoe. ‘Thanks little dude!’ I say to him. In response, his quick hand comes out and ruffles my hair.
I look up in surprise. Was this a proper response? I think not. Before I speak, I get a good look at his face, recognition dawning in my eyes. ‘M-, you know you are supposed to keep your hands to yourself,’ I say to him. The now first grader holds back his hands and says ‘Just kidding, I was just kidding.’
I nod to reassure him. Finish tying his shoe. Just as I’m finishing up, his quick little hand shoots out and as he touches, he says ‘Pretty earrings, I like your earrings.’
“Thank you M-, yes they are. But we look with our eyes, not our…”
“Not our hands,” he finishes the sentence for me. He tucks his hands under opposite armpits, and looks down, knowing he’s crossed the line again.
Life is tough enough without having this compulsion. I tell him to have a great afternoon, and gently put three fingers on his hand, giving him the touch he so deeply craves.

xo

2 comments

  1. Cute story Torie 🙂 (((hugs))) great picture as well 🙂


  2. This one is going to stick with me, Torie.



Leave a Reply

