h1

November 12, 2010 — sunlight

November 13, 2010
November 12, 2010

November 12, 2010 --sunlight

November 12, 2010. 3:49pm. ISO 100. Shutter 1/20. Aperture f/14.0. No flash, manual exposure.

It’s an appropriate day to think about my Nana. My maternal grandmother. Two years ago in the autumn she was hospitalized. I would go to visit her in the hospital after I got off work.

The sunlight filtered between the blinds, I would sit in the only chair, after making sure she was comfortable. Sometimes Nana would just sleep. Sometimes she would ask questions. Sometimes, she would talk. She would tell of things; wonderful adventures as an adult, high school growing pains, mischief as a child. Stories that need to be written down. Stories that are with me that need to come out and be shared.

My Nana was born in 1911 and had seen many, many things. She embraced new things with enthusiasm. In her 90’s,  she had her own e-mail address, did online banking as well as order her medications through the internet. She was faithful to her soap opera as well as her favorite authors, was very tough to beat at Scrabble, and did a difficult crossword puzzle a day.

My Papa (maternal grandfather) had passed away several years before, but he and my Nana had known each other since high school… had been married for over 60 years. Today would have been their anniversary.

Nana passed away in early June 2009. I still miss her… I drink my tea out of her mug every night. Her phone number is still programmed into my phone. I still wish I could talk to her, ask her advice on many things. She was a wonderful woman.

xo

