h1

“My 365” – Chicken Soup

November 14, 2010

So I’m making my chicken soup tonight. The homemade kind of chicken soup that my daughter swears will fix even a broken heart. I’ve often thought that chicken soup contains magical powers. That it has the capability of curing physical, mental, and emotional pain if you put the right ingredients into it. And if you believe in it.

This brings me to thinking of my job, actually. Not really a job… most people don’t like theirs, right? I love what I do ten months out of the year. To think that I never even wanted to have children… my thinking back in college. Now where am I? I’m a teacher. I’m a teacher who cares very much about the physical, mental, and emotional welfare of not just my own child, not just my own students, but of all children. Every day I see what I don’t want to see, and what I do want to see. I see happy children, well adjusted with at least one parent who is dedicated, loving, and provides a secure and nurturing environment. But I also see children persevering against odds I never could have imagined as a child. (I had a wonderful childhood.) I see children arrive at school neglected. Ignored, perhaps verbally abused, dirty and lacking sleep. I see children who need love and caring and structure in their lives. I see children who may even lack the basic necessities of food, shelter, and clothing. I see children who need consistency and comfort because they don’t get it elsewhere. These are my chicken soup children. If I could feed the children of the world my chicken soup…. I would hope to make the world a better place for them. I wish everyone would make children some ‘chicken soup.’ And believe in it.

xo


November 14, 2010

November 14, 2010 -- Chicken Soup

November 14, 2010. 6:42pm. ISO 100. Shutter 1/4.  Aperture f/5.6. Manual exposure, no flash.

4 comments

  1. Jude, I don’t know about that ‘front row seat’, but children and education are what I truly care about. Fortunately I have many friends of like minds to brainstorm ways to help.
    Steve, thanks for your comments. You are correct in many ways!


  2. Btw- I like the soft-focus edges on the picture, and I LOVE chicken soup! 🙂


  3. True, the complaints about education seem to center on the schools. However, the schools are not there to raise the children. The kids have to be in the proper frame of mind to learn. This includes being fed and clothed and taught how to get along in a group. Those things are the prerogatives of the parents. Perhaps, fewer parents should be letting the television, the school and everyone else raise their child. Just sayin’.


  4. Lucky, lucky children, those children of yours. They will remember you always. I’m an atheist, but my Christian mother-in-law has a lovely expression to describe people like you: “you’ll get a front row seat in heaven”…



Leave a Reply

