h1

“My 365” November 18, 2010

November 18, 2010
November 18, 2010

November 18, 2010 --home

November 18, 2010. 9:00pm. ISO 100. Shutter 0.769231. Aperture f/4.0. No flash, manual exposure.

Tonight was a reminder of how lucky I am to have a home.

I met a girlfriend this evening at a coffee shop for much needed girl-talk. As I was walking down the street, I was very aware of our homeless. More aware than usual, perhaps, because I had been running before dawn this morning, and seen even more.

Belmont Shore has its regulars. Those are the homeless people we see every day, following the same habits nearly every day. These people live around the neighborhood and beach year-round. I’ve seen most of them at least once a week since I moved here 6 years ago. I nod and say hello to many of them, although they never answer back. I feel as if they are my neighbors.
Then we have the semi-regulars. The homeless that we’ve seen before, but who seem to come and go randomly. I speculate that they have a much wider area that they cover, and perhaps simply go from neighborhood to neighborhood, town to town as the spirit moves them. Very transient people.
Then we have the seasonal homeless. This is perhaps what drew my attention this evening. The seasonal homeless you may or may not have seen before, because they only seem to visit the temperate climates during the months when it is cold and snowy up north. Perhaps the most transient of all?

I imagine the shelters become very full when even the southern California temperatures cool down. I’m not sure if these people are down on their luck and victims of fate, or if they have brought the situation upon themselves, or if they prefer this lifestyle. I have never had such a conversation. All of this that I’ve written has been speculation based on observation. I think it would be interesting to find out how many of them have chosen this lifestyle. I am very aware that I would not like to be homeless. I am very lucky to have such a lovely place to call home.

xo

One comment

  1. I’m sure that there are those who are homeless for each of the reasons you name. For the adults, being homeless is bad enough. For homeless children, the ‘lifestyle’ holds hazards quite unique to the condition. Even for those few who have ‘chosen’ to live transiently, it is never easy.



Leave a Reply

