h1

“My 365” November 26, 2010

November 26, 2010
November 26, 2010

November 26, 2010 --tradition

November 26, 2010. 4:43pm. ISO 100. Shutter 1/5. Aperture f/4.5. Manual exposure, no flash.

The holidays are upon us. Thanksgiving, and now preparations for Christmas have begun. To me, these holidays are important. Here’s why.
Family.

and family traditions are important as well. I think it is important for a child to have the stability of doing some of the same things year after year. Not only do traditions help us navigate the many aspects of the holiday, but they also are the basis of many memories.

Jessica and I like to make candy at Christmas. A funny sort of a little tradition that grew out of my unwillingness to compete with the wonderful bakers and cooks in the family. My cookies were always the most simple, or the most ludicrous looking ones. However, no one made candy, and Jess and I loved eating it. So we began very simply with fudge in the microwave, and have graduated since then to have a wide repertoire of recipes to choose from.

Sometimes I end up making some batches by myself. The most fun, however, is when Jessica is right there with me, hands deep in sugar and extracts. Today we began with her favorite. Cream Cheese Mints. A simple recipe, but delicious and refreshing. In the photo, I am actually taking the completed mints and folding them into their decorative foil wrappers. (only the ones given as gifts get the wrappers – saves the environment. Those served at parties remain unwrapped.)

I love this time of year. The time spent with my daughter, on our own silly little traditions that I hope she’ll have fond memories of in the years to come.

xo

November 26, 2010

November 26, 2010 -- candy hands

One comment

  1. of course I’ll have these memories forever! i love you!



Leave a Reply

