h1

“My 365” November 28, 2010

November 28, 2010

So, I’m a teacher. In California. I teach all my students equally, to the best of my ability. The quality of my teaching is the same, it doesn’t matter where they come from, who their parents are, or where they were born. My high expectations are for all my students, not just a few. And according to law, I’m not allowed to ask who is here legally, and who is not. Nor do I want to know.

So I sit here, correcting essays written from all of my students. I have high hopes for them! Some of them are very intelligent – destined to have a positive impact on society, I believe.

Or will they?

In spite of having been educated with government funds just as any other student, undocumented scholars may have no future beyond menial or blue-collar labor. I do not discriminate in my teaching, nor do my colleagues. It is daunting to think that perhaps our hard work, and the work of the undocumented students, is for nothing.

Should Congress pass the Dream Act so that our teaching and their learning is not in vain? Or should we stop educating undocumented students altogether, save the money we’ve been using for their education? Is there another answer?

I pose these questions to you. I am not political, I have no power, no say. Therefore, I don’t need to hear your answer. I just want you to think.

xo

http://www.latimes.com/news/local/la-me-dream-act-20101128,0,5057601.story

November 28, 2010

November 28, 2010 -- Dream Act

November 28, 2010. 4:46pm. ISO 100. Shutter 1.6. Aperture f/22.0. Manual exposure, no flash.

3 comments

  1. It is thought-provoking. And with another great picture, Torie.


  2. I am also thinking…


  3. BTW, I am just going to copy whatever you are doing with your camera for myself and make myself learn better photography! You are awesome!



Leave a Reply

