h1

“My 365” November 29, 2010 -This is me, but not about me.

November 29, 2010
November 29, 2010

November 29, 2010 --this is me, but not about me

November 29, 2010. 8:10pm. ISO 100. Shutter 3. Aperture f/29.0. Manual exposure, no flash.

I’ve got something to say. And this post goes out to all the girls out there who think they need to conform to what society considers the ‘norm’.

(Oh no, here she goes again…)

This is a picture of me. As are all the rest of these photos in this project. Each photo is a bit different from the others. In this particular photo, I have on jewelry and make-up. I also wore a skirt with some lovely boots on my feet today. I *look* like a totally superficial girly-girl. I probably look as if I can’t even open up my own spaghetti sauce jar, let alone change a tire. Perhaps I remind you of someone who has no idea of what is going on in the world, because they think the world revolves around them. Maybe this photography project makes you think that I looove myself so much that I only take pictures of me.

So here’s the thing.

I like pretty things. I like certain kinds of jewelry. I love wearing skirts and dresses. I really love pretty shoes. (yes, I’m talking heels.) I wear lipstick.
But don’t place me in the girly-girl, self-centered category. Many people are quick to judge. However, I can run a half-marathon. I help tutor children in my free time at work. I am very family oriented. I know what’s going on in the world. I’m very passionate about parenting and education. I can open my own spaghetti sauce jar. Heck, I can even change a tire (although I have Triple A. I’m also smart.) And this photography project? I am the cheapest, most consistent model to use. (There is a purpose to this project, see the description under “My 365”)
I am who I am.

This, however,  is not another boring post on ‘Don’t judge a book by its cover.’

This is for all the girls and women who think they have to be what society dictates. This is for my students who think they have to be just like their mothers and their sisters. This is for my daughter, this is for my niece.

If you like reading books and riding horses, then read books, ride horses. If you like wearing tutus, and playing ice hockey in them, then wear a tutu while playing ice hockey. If you want to become a pediatrician, and not a wife and mother just out of high school, then become a pediatrician.

Strong/caring. Beautiful/smart. These don’t have to be antonyms.

Don’t let society tell you who you are. Just.Be.You.

xo

p.s. as soon as I have 365 photos of ‘me’, then I’m done. Will someone count? xo

2 comments

  1. Very well said, Torie!


  2. Fabulous! Couldn’t agree more. I am really starting to enjoy this blog now, yay!!!!!



Leave a Reply

