h1

“My 365” December 3, 2010

December 3, 2010

The evening sunset was more spectacular than usual. The peach, periwinkel, silver, and gold horizon was softened by marine fog moving in off the Pacific. As I drove home, the beauty of our planet was evident, even in the urban decadence of a long established city.
By the time I was finally parking, the gentle grey of the low-lying water vapor had blurred all the edges of the houses and trees. The neighbors across the street were hosting a cocktail party, their Christmas lights glowing and shimmering in the December air. The laughter and conversation of the guests was muffled by the density of the atmosphere, only adding to the glamour of the event.
I hurriedly gathered my camera and tripod, and walked silently through the evening down to lifeguard station number 6. The five minute walk had my hair slightly damp. The moisture a relief to my throat from the usually dry Santa Ana winds of the day.
Two teenage girls sat together on the path, their voices low, laughter just under the surface as they exchanged secrets, as best friends do. The beach nearly deserted, the foghorns seemed that much lonelier, suiting my mood. I set up my camera and tripod, quickly taking the shots, all the while wishing I had someone to share the magic of the foggy, romantic evening with. The ocean lapped the edges of the sand, the sounds and smell intoxicating to me, as only the sea can be. A near perfect night, filled with the sea, the sand, and the opaque marine air. Romance, indeed.

xo

December 3, 2010

December 3, 2010 --romance, indeed

December 3, 2010. 5:06pm. ISO 100. Shutter 0.624. Aperture f/3.8. Manual exposure, no flash.

One comment

  1. I love me a foggy night on the beach–REALLY miss that! Love you too, gal!



Leave a Reply

